New Mexico’s New Cannabis Control Division Launches State Webpage


Cannabis regulation law implementation underway as bill awaits governor’s signature

to play

  • New Mexico passed the Cannabis Regulation Act on March 31.
  • A separate bill signed by Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham begins implementing the regulations.
  • The Cannabis Control Division is expected to start processing license applications by September.

SANTA FE – The newest division of the New Mexico Regulatory and Licensing Department, the Cannabis Control Division, debuted on the RLD site although Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham has yet to sign a law legalizing and regulating it.

While the cannabis regulation law is yet to come into force, pending the signature promised by the governor after it was passed in last week’s special legislative session, the “food bill” that funded the session provided a credit of $ 1.7 million to RLD to begin implementation.

Once enacted, cannabis will be legal in New Mexico for possession and consumption by adults aged 21 and over starting June 29.

By September, the division is expected to process license applications from producers, with standards and documentation procedures in place. He will also assume oversight of licenses under the Lynn and Erin Compassion Use Act, the 2017 law that legalized and regulated medical cannabis in New Mexico. (The medical program patient registry is maintained by the state health department.)

By January, the CCD is tasked with promulgating rules for the production, marketing and sale of cannabis (commonly known as marijuana), in consultation with other agencies and a Cannabis Advisory Committee.

By then, he also expects to issue allowed cannabis servers – costing up to $ 35 for three years – with commercial sales scheduled to begin no later than April 1 of next year.

Following: What you need to know about New Mexico’s cannabis regulation law

On Tuesday, the division’s webpage featured definitions of terms and a fee schedule for licenses authorizing cannabis companies, testing labs, servers, producers, etc.

The page also contains contact information for questions about the program as the implementation progresses.

Lujan Grisham has indicated that she will sign the bill, which is one of her main legislative goals. She has until April 20 to do so: the bill was passed on March 31 in a special two-day session she called to focus in part on finalizing cannabis legislation.

On Tuesday, the governor was still enacting legislation passed during the regular 60-day winter session, which ran from January through March but ended before lawmakers finished their work on cannabis legislation. and a separate bill dealing with the elimination of certain cannabis-related criminal records.

Following: Governor signs child support, poverty and schools bills

Algernon D’Ammassa can be reached at 575-541-5451, [email protected] Where @AlgernonWrites on Twitter.



Source link

Comments are closed.